9th AADR Fall Focused Symposium:
Advances in Precision Oral Health Research


National Institutes of Health (NIH) Bethesda Campus, Maryland
November 8-9, 2018


Supported, in part, by an unrestricted Education Grant from the  Task Force on Design & Analysis in Oral Health Research

Thursday, November 8, 2018

1 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.

Welcome and Introduction to the Symposium
Maria Ryan, AADR President 2018-2019 

1:15 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.

Maria Ryan – Brief Introduction of Speakers 

Introduction to Precision Oral Health Research 
Francis Collins
Director, National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Eric Green
Director, National Human Genome Research Institute

2:15 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.

Q&A (30 min)

2:45 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

William Maixner
Director, Center for Translational Pain Medicine, Duke University
Member, Interagency Pain Research Coordinating Committee

3:15 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Q&A (15 min)

3:30 p.m.


3:45 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. 

Oral Microbiome
Wenyuan Shi
Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer, The Forsyth Institute

4:15 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Q&A (15 min)

4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Poster Session and Networking

Friday, November 9, 2018


8:30 a.m. – 8:45 a.m.

Welcome and Introduction to the Symposium
Maria Ryan
AADR President 2018-2019 

8:45 a.m. – 9:45 a.m.

Periodontal disease, caries, oral-systemic connection
Kimon Divaris
Associate Professor, Pediatric Dentistry
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Mary Marazita
Director, Center for Craniofacial and Dental Genetics
School of Dental Medicine
University of Pittsburgh 

9:45 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Q&A (15 min)

10 a.m.


10:30 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.

Welcome and Introduction to Speaker
Raul Garcia
AADR Immediate Past President 2018-2019

10:45 a.m. – 11:45 p.m.

Oral Cancer
J. Silvio Gutkind
Director, Basic Science
Moores Cancer Center
University of California San Diego
Nisha D’Silva 
Donald A. Kerr Endowed Collegiate Professor of Oral Pathology
University of Michigan

11:45 p.m. – 12 p.m.

Q&A (15 min)

12 p.m.


1:15 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Welcome and Introduction to Speakers
Raul Garcia
AADR Immediate Past President 2018-2019

1:30 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.

Translation of the Science
Anh D. Le
Penn Multidisciplinary Consortium: Personalized Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Tissue Regeneration

2 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.

Q&A (15 min)

2:15 p.m.


2:30 p.m. – 3 p.m.

Discussants and Next Steps
Raul I. Garcia
Boston University School of Dental Medicine 
David Gesko
Dental Director & Senior Vice President
Sebastian Ciancio
Executive Director
Task Force on Design & Analysis in Oral Health Research 

3 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

Q&A (30 min)

3:30 p.m. - 4 p.m.

Precision Health: Bringing Oral Health into the Context of Overall Health
Martha Somerman 
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

4 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.

Concluding Remarks and Next Steps
Maria Ryan
AADR President 2018-2019