Home  /  About Us  /  Leadership  /  AADR Presidents  /  25

Barbara D. Boyan

The Twenty-fifth President, 1996-97

  • Born 20 September 1948

  • Inaugural Address delivered at San Francisco, CA, 13 March 1996:
    "The Changing Face of Dental Research: Blurring the Boundaries Between Industry and Academia"
    (J Dent Res 75(6):1426-1427, 1996)

  • University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston, 1975-80
    University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio, 1981-2002
    Director, Industry-University Cooperative Research Center, UTHSC, San Antonio, 1986-
    Professor and Director of Research, UTHSC, San Antonio, 1988-
    Director, Center for the Enhancement of the Biology/Biomaterials Interface, UTHSC/SA, 1992-
    Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Innovation, Georgia Institute of Technology, 2002-2012
    Dean, School of Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University, 2013 –