IADR Global Headquarters Email Notice

Due to an upgrade to the IADR Global Headquarters email systems, some emails may bounce back on Thursday, February 21, 2018 between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. EST. We apologize for this inconvenience. If you receive a bounce message, we ask that you try sending the email again later in the day or on Friday. If you need immediate assistance, please call +1.703.548.0066 or select our live chat feature to speak with a member of staff. We thank you for your patience during this upgrade. 


This award was established to provide national recognition for outstanding efforts to foster and promote research training and career development of students, trainees and junior faculty. It is intended to identify individuals at all levels of their career with an exemplary record of mentoring.

Criteria for nominees:

Nominees must be members of the AADR. Each nominee must be an experienced researcher with a record of commitment to the research training and career development of students, trainees and/or faculty.


Nomination Procedure:

A nomination letter should be provided that documents the mentoring accomplishments of the candidate and why those accomplishments warrant recognition with this honor. Also, please provide:

  • A list of current and previous mentees (where appropriate list thesis and dissertation committee activity and level of involvement),
  • Their current titles and positions,
  • A listing of all abstracts, papers, book chapters and books co-authored by the candidate and mentees; and
  • An abbreviated curriculum vitae (10 pages maximum).

Nominations will remain in the nominee pool for 5 years. 

All nomination materials should be submitted online by October 13, 2017.


Review and Selection Process:

All materials will be submitted to the AADR Distinguished Scientist Award Committee and reviewed for selection.



The award consists of a monetary prize of $1,000.00 and a plaque presented at the 47th Annual Meeting & Exhibition of the AADR in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., USA, March 21-24, 2018.



Sheri S. Herren, Strategic Programs Manager at sherren@aadr.org for more details


Prior Recipients of the AADR Irwin D. Mandel Distinguished Mentoring Award.