This award is sponsored by Colgate-Palmolive and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group (PRG).

In honor of the PRG’s Past Presidents, the Group is offering the PRG Presidents’ Travel Award in line with its focus on enhancing research and attracting junior researchers into academia.


The abstract must be presented at the IADR General Session & Exhibition. The award is open to post-doctoral and pre-doctoral students who:

  • Have an accepted abstract in Periodontology;
  • Are presenting the abstract themselves; and
  • Have a member of the PRG as their mentor.



You must submit an abstract for the General Session & Exhibition of the IADR by the abstract deadline date, October 25, 2019, adhering to the usual submission procedures. In the awards section of the on-line abstract submission process select "Periodontal Research Group Presidents’ Travel Award.”



The three Review Groups within the PRG (Diagnosis/Epidemiology, Therapy and Pathogenesis) will each select two qualified abstracts, and a panel consisting of past PRG Presidents will select the winner. A letter from the mentor will then be solicited to confirm that the winner fulfills the eligibility criteria listed above, as well as that no additional substantial travel stipends have been received for the same trip.



The award will be presented during the annual business meeting of the PRG during the General Session. The award is meant to cover travel to and accommodation at the IADR General Session. For travel to a meeting site that is on the same continent as the applicant’s residence, the award will amount to US $2,000. For travel to a different continent, the award will amount to US $3,000. 


Abstract Deadline: October 25, 2019


For further information concerning this award, please contact:

Panos N. Papapanou, DDS, PhD
Professor of Dental Medicine
Chair, Section of Oral and Diagnostic Sciences
Director, Division of Periodontics
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine


Past Recipients

2019 Recipient

Haiqing Liao, Wuhan University, China

2018 Recipient

Flora Momen-Heravi, Columbia University, USA

2017 Recipient

Isabel-Lopez Olivia, University of Brimingham, UK

2016 Recipient
Hyeran Jeon, University of Pennsylvania, USA

2015 Recipient
Matthew Mason, Ohio State University, Columbus, USA

2014 Recipient
Christiane Gocke, Greifswald University, Germany

2013 Recipient:
Moritz Kebschull, University of Bonn, Germany

2012 Recipient:
Christin Stoecklin-Wasmer, Columbia University, New York, USA

2011 Recipient:
Lisa J. Palmer, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom

2010 Recipient:
Irundika Dias, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom