AADR Elections Results: AADR Members Elect John Timothy Wright and Nisha D’Silva

Members of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) have elected John Timothy Wright, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, to serve as the next AADR vice president. His term will commence at the conclusion of the 46th AADR Annual Meeting in San Francisco, Calif., March 22-25, 2017. After serving as vice president, he will remain on the AADR Board of Directors for three consecutive terms as president-elect, president and immediate past president.

Wright is the James Bawden distinguished professor and director of strategic initiatives at the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry. He completed his undergraduate studies at Fort Lewis College, Durango, Colorado, and West Virginia University, Morgantown. Wright earned his D.D.S. from West Virginia University School of Dentistry, and an M.S. and a certificate in pediatric dentistry from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. His postdoctoral training includes a fellowship in cariology research and a teacher training fellowship in medical genetics.

His research interests have focused largely on the area of mineralized tissues and genetics, and led to him being elected to serve as councilor for the IADR Mineralized Tissue Group from 2000-2005. Continuing his service to the IADR Mineralized Tissue Group, he was elected to serve in the Group’s leadership from 2010-2013 as vice president and president.

Since joining AADR in 1981, he has participated in a broad range of the Association’s activities, including serving in the leadership of the AADR Alabama Section (1986-1990) and the AADR North Carolina Section (1992-1995). Supporting other programs and initiatives, he served on the IADR Science Information Committee (2001-2003) and Fellowships Committee (2007-2010). After receiving the 2014 IADR Distinguished Scientist Award for Basic Research in Biological Mineralization, he participated in selection of future Distinguished Scientist Awardees. Election by the AADR Section leaders allowed him to be part of the AADR Board of Directors as a member-at-large from 2013-2016. This year, Wright was inducted into the inaugural class of AADR Fellows, which is a program designed to recognize leaders of AADR and individuals who have served AADR in various ways throughout their careers.

As vice president, Wright will work to support the AADR mission and the vision of the Board of Directors.

AADR members have elected Nisha D’Silva, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, as the AADR representative to the IADR/AADR Publications Committee. D’Silva is professor of dentistry at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry and an associate professor of pathology at the Medical School. At the university, she is also the associate chair of the Division of Oral Medicine, Pathology and Radiology. Her three major areas of professional activity are as a translational scientist in head and neck cancer, as an oral and maxillofacial pathologist, and in didactic teaching.



In this section

Annual Report

Learn More »