IADR Periodontal Group Presidents' Travel Award

Sponsored by Colgate-Palmolive Company


In honor of the PRG’s Past Presidents, the Group is offering the PRG Presidents’ Travel Award in line with its focus on enhancing research and attracting junior researchers into academia.


The abstract must be presented at the IADR General Session & Exhibition. The award is open to post-doctoral and pre-doctoral students who:

  • Have an accepted abstract in Periodontology;
  • Are presenting the abstract themselves; and
  • Have a member of the PRG as their mentor


You must submit an abstract for the General Session & Exhibition of the IADR by the abstract deadline date, adhering to the usual submission procedures. In the awards section of the on-line abstract submission process select "Periodontal Research Group Presidents’ Travel Award.”


All awards will be presented during the annual business meeting of the PRG during the General Session. The award is meant to cover travel to and accommodation at the IADR General Session. For travel to a meeting site that is on the same continent as the applicant’s residence, the award will amount to US $2,000. For travel to a different continent, the award will amount to US $3,000. Both the recipient and the mentor will have to verify that no other substantial travel stipends have been received for the same trip.


Three Review Groups within the PRG, Diagnosis/Epidemiology, Therapy and Pathogenesis, will each select two qualified abstracts. Letters of support from the mentor of each of the six candidates will then be solicited. Prior to the meeting, and based on a combined assessment of the abstract content and a mentor letter, a panel consisting of past PRG Presidents will select the winner and her/his name will be announced at the PRG business meeting.

Abstract Deadline: October 7, 2014.

For further information concerning this award, please contact:

Panos N. Papapanou
Professor of Dentistry
Chair, Section of Oral and Diagnostic Sciences
Director, Division of Periodontics
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine

2013 Recipient:
Moritz Kebschull, University of Bonn, Germany

2012 Recipient:
Christin Stoecklin-Wasmer, Columbia University, New York, USA

2011 Recipient:
Lisa J. Palmer, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom

2010 Recipient:
Irundika Dias, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom



Related Content

2013 Annual Report

Learn More »