Home  /  About Us  /  News

For all media inquiries, or for more information about the AADR, please contact:

Elise Bender
Marketing & Communications Manager

Stay up to date on the latest news at AADR by reading our press releases. Use the search and keyword features on the left to sort past press releases. 

AADR Congratulates Two Past Presidents on New Editor-in-Chief Roles

Alexandria, Va., USA – The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) congratulates two AADR Past Presidents on new Editor-in-Chief appointments for American Dental Association (ADA) scientific journals.

Immediate Past President J. Timothy Wright, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, was named the next Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA) and AADR Past President Jack Ferracane, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, was named the founding Editor-in-Chief of a new open-access, peer-reviewed journal spanning basic and clinical sciences to advance research in oral health. This announcement was made during the 2020 ADA FDC Virtual Connect Conference, a joint meeting of the American Dental Association and Florida Dental Association.

“I am very excited about this opportunity to serve as the new Editor-in-Chief of the JADA,” said Wright in a video announcement. “We plan to present publications related to new and developing technologies … and relay the transformative themes that are directed in improving not only oral health, but overall health in the populations we serve.” Ferracane echoed Wright’s sentiment in the video statement saying, “I am excited to be the first Editor-in-Chief of this new open-access journal. I think the open-access, online format provides flexibility to do some very interesting things … we hope to enhance the ties between researchers and oral health care providers.”

“It is wonderful to see AADR past leadership step into these new roles with passion and excitement,” said current AADR President and former Journal of Dental Research Editor-in-Chief (1993-2004), Mark C. Herzberg, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. “While they have already served as AADR presidents, they now bring to the practicing community the AADR mission of driving dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being through discovery and dissemination.”

Jack Ferracane served as the 45th President of the AADR (2016-17) and is currently Professor and Chair of Restorative Dentistry, and Division Director of Biomaterials and Biomechanics at Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon. J. Timothy Wright served as the 48th President of the AADR (2019-20) and is the James Bawden Distinguished Professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Adams School of Dentistry.

View a PDF of this press release.

About the American Association for Dental Research

The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) is a nonprofit organization with over 3,100 individual members in the United States, dedicated to driving dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being through discovery and dissemination. The AADR is the largest Division of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR). To learn more, visit www.iadr.org/aadr.

Previous Article Ana Paula Vieira Colombo Named Associate Editor for the Journal of Dental Research
Next Article AADR Elects Carmem Pfeifer as AADR Representative to the IADR/AADR Publications Committee

Theme picker