Home  /  About Us  /  News  /  Strides in Science

For all media inquiries, or for more information about the AADR, please contact:

Elise Bender
Marketing & Communications Manager


Stay up to date on the latest news at AADR by reading our press releases. Use the search and keyword features on the left to sort past press releases. 

July 2019 – Cameron L. Randall

0 115

Cameron L. Randall is a Senior Fellow at the University of Washington School of Dentistry in Seattle. Randall is Secretary/Treasurer of the IADR Behavioral, Epidemiologic, and Health Services Research Group and a member of the AADR Committee on Diversity and Inclusion. Randall previously served on the AADR National Student Research Group Board. Randall’s program of research applies behavioral science, especially health psychology, to dentistry and dental public health.

June 2019 – Hoorshad Fathi-Kelly

0 114

Hoorshad Fathi-Kelly is a student at the University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry. Fathi-Kelly was the recipient of the 2019 Student Advocate of the Year Award. Fathi-Kelly received the award due to her contributions to advocacy for oral health research, which have included working with her university to support advocacy programming, enhancing advocacy awareness among her peers and becoming more involved in local advocacy activities and initiatives. AADR President Maria Ryan (pictured left) presented Fathi-Kelly (pictured right) during the 2019 AADR and FNIDCR Advocacy Day on Capitol Hill.

May 2019 – David Cruz Walma

0 437

David Cruz Walma is a Medical Research Scholars Program Fellow in the lab of Kenneth Yamada in the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) and an oncoming fourth year D.M.D. student at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Dentistry. His research interests focus on using state-of-the-art cellular and structural biology approaches to discover novel molecular mechanisms regulating developmental health and disease of the head and neck. 

David has received several research awards and mentoring recognitions, including the 2018 William S. Kramer Award of Excellence, has held various student leadership positions and is passionate about mentoring. Via the NIH Oxford-Cambridge Scholars Program, David will become a graduate research student at the University of Oxford, England in 2019 under the dual-mentorship of Alex Bullock and Kenneth Yamada. 

April 2019 – Jacques E. Nör

0 340

Jacques E. Nör is the Donald A. Kerr Endowed Professor of Dentistry and serves as Chair of the Department of Cariology, Restorative Sciences and Endodontics at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry, Ann Arbor. He also has joint appointments as Professor of Otolaryngology and Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Michigan.

Nör is Associate Editor of the Journal of Dental Research, he has served on various IADR and AADR committees, served as President of the IADR Pulp Biology and Regeneration Group and was recently elected Vice-president of the AADR. Nör was the winner of the 2012 Distinguished Scientist Award, the 2010 and 2011 William J. Gies Award, Biological, won first place in the both the IADR and AADR Edward H. Hatton Award, Postdoctoral Category in 1999, and was elected as AADR Fellow. He is Chair of the Section on Dentistry & Oral Health Sciences of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences. Nör currently serves as Chair of the NIH study section on Oral Dental and Craniofacial Sciences and has been continuously funded by the NIH since 2002. 

March 2019 – Mark Herzberg

0 562

Mark Herzberg, AADR Vice-President, is Professor, Department of Diagnostic and Biological Sciences, School of Dentistry, University of Minnesota and Director Emeritus of the NIH-supported Minnesota Craniofacial Research Training Program, and former Associate Director of the University of Minnesota Clinical and Translational Science Institute. He was a regular member of the NIH/Oral Biology and Medicine Study Section from 1991 to 1995, the American Cancer Society Institutional Review Committee from 1985 to 2009, and other NIH and national scientific review committees.  In 1992, he was elected Fellow for the American Association for the Advancement of Science for his research work on molecular basis of infective endocarditis and in 1995 he received the Distinguished Scientist Award in Oral Biology from the International Association for Dental Research.  From 1993 to 2004, Mark was editor of the Journal of Dental Research and a member of the IADR/AADR Joint Publications Committee. He served on the IADR Boards of Directors and Joint Finance Committee and as President-elect, President and Immediate Past President of the IADR Microbiology and Immunology Research Group. Mark served as a member of the National Advisory Dental and Craniofacial Research Council, NIDCR and a member and Chair of the Board of Scientific Councilors of NIDCR, 2007-2012.