This competition is run entirely by the AADR National Student Research Group. First-, second-, and third-place winners are selected in two categories: Basic Science and Clinical Science. Open to undergraduate dental students of good academic standing, without an advanced degree or doctorate in any field.

Basic Science Category


1st Place

Stuart J. Ryan

Indiana University

Effects of TAP-mimic Antibiotic-Containing Scaffolds on Actinomyces naeslundii-Infected Dentin Biofilm?


2nd Place

Alaa Ahmed

Harvard University

Direct Actions of Hyperglycemia on Human Monocyte Transcription?


3rd Place

Steven Linden

New York University

HIV-1 Inhibition: Binding of gp340/SRCR Derived Peptide to HIV-1 gp120 Derived Peptide?

Clinical Science Category


1st Place

Lee H. Zamos

University of Kentucky

Immediate Loading of Unsplinted Implant Retained Mandibular Overdenture?


2nd Place

Joshua D. Evans

Indiana University

Impact of Bioactive Antibiotic-Containing Scaffolds on Porphyromonas gingivalis-Infected Dentin Biofilm?


3rd Place

Alice Ko

Tufts University

Rural Zambia Oral Health Dental Services: Utilization Outcomes?