This competition is run entirely by the AADR National Student Research Group. First-, second-, and third-place winners are selected in two categories: Basic Science and Clinical Science. Open to undergraduate dental students of good academic standing, without an advanced degree or doctorate in any field.

Basic Science Category


1st Place

Shaun Darrah

Columbia University, New York, N.Y., USA

Porphyromonas gingivalis Lipopolysaccharide Dose-Dependently Activates Neutrophil-Gelatinase-Associated-Lipocalin Expression in Oral Keratinocytes


2st Place

Tian Liang

Texas A&M University Baylor, Dallas, USA

The ILV-DSPP Transgenic Mice Recapitulate Human DGI Type II


3rd Place

Yiwen Fu

University of California – San Francisco, USA

Sympathetic Innervation Stimulates Salivary Gland Differentiation

Clinical Science Category


1st Place

Yandy Gonzalez Marrero

University of Florida, Gainesville, USA

Local and Plasma Inflammatory Biomarkers in Localized Aggressive Periodontitis


2nd Place

Andrew Lum

Tufts University, Boston, Mass., USA

Association Between Sinus Membrane Thickness and Perforation During Sinus Augmentation


3rd Place

Aneesa Sood

University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

Matrix Metalloproteinase Expression in Primary Ameloblastoma Derived Cells