Home  /  About Us  /  News

For all media inquiries, or for more information about the IADR, please contact:

Elise Bender

Marketing & Communications Manager

Stay up to date on the latest news at IADR by reading our press releases. Use the search and keyword features on the left to sort past press releases. 

Scott L. Tomar Received 2019 AADR Jack Hein Public Service Award

Alexandria, VA, USA – The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) announced Scott L. Tomar, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA, as the 2019 recipient of AADR Jack Hein Public Service Award. Tomar was recognized at the Opening Ceremonies of the 97th General Session & Exhibition of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR), held in conjunction with the 48th Annual Meeting of the AADR and the 43rd Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR). The IADR/AADR/CADR General Session & Exhibition is held at the Vancouver Convention Centre West Building in Vancouver, BC, Canada from June 19-22, 2019.

Tomar is Professor and Chair of the Department of Community Dentistry and Behavioral Science at the University of Florida in the College of Dentistry. He also holds affiliate faculty appointments in the College of Public Health and Health Professions’ Department of Epidemiology and the College of Medicine’s Department of Health Outcomes and Policy. 

Among his major research interests are understanding and eliminating disparities in oral health, tobacco epidemiology and community-based prevention of oral disease. Tomar served as Chair of the Exposure Subgroup for the International Agency for Research on Cancer 2007 monograph on smokeless tobacco and related nitrosamines, contributed to six reports of the U.S. Surgeon General on tobacco and was a lead author on the National Cancer Institute/Centers for Disease Control and Prevention report Smokeless Tobacco and Public Health: A Global Perspective. 

Tomar has more published more than 150 journal articles and book chapters and serves as a consultant for numerous governmental agencies and professional organizations, including the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the American Dental Association. He is the Immediate Past Chair of the American Public Health Association’s Oral Health Section and has served as President of the American Association of Public Health Dentistry and President of the IADR Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Group.

The AADR Jack Hein Public Service Award honors individuals who have given exemplary service in the area of public affairs by consistently promoting the interests and activities of oral health research to a wide constituency.

About the International Association for Dental Research
The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) is a nonprofit organization with over 11,400 individual members worldwide, dedicated to: (1) advancing research and increasing knowledge for the improvement of oral health worldwide, (2) supporting and representing the oral health research community, and (3) facilitating the communication and application of research findings. To learn more, visit www.iadr.org. The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) is the largest Division of IADR with 3,300 members in the United States. To learn more, visit www.iadr.org/aadr.

Previous Article Margaret R. Byers Received 2019 AADR Honorary Membership
Next Article Jessica Scoffield Receives the Inaugural AADR Procter and Gamble Under-represented Faculty Research Fellowship

Theme picker