Home  /  About Us  /  News

For all media inquiries, or for more information about the IADR, please contact:

Elise Bender

Marketing & Communications Manager


Stay up to date on the latest news at IADR by reading our press releases. Use the search and keyword features on the left to sort past press releases. 

Helen Whelton Received the 2019 IADR Distinguished Scientist H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award and the 2019 IADR E.W. Borrow Memorial Award

Alexandria, Va., USA – The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) announced Helen Whelton, University College Cork, Ireland, as the 2019 recipient of the Distinguished Scientist H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award and the 2019 recipient of the IADR E.W. Borrow Memorial Award. Whelton was recognized at the Opening Ceremonies of the 97th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, held in conjunction with the 48th Annual Meeting of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) and the 43rd Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR). The IADR/AADR/CADR General Session & Exhibition is held at the Vancouver Convention Centre West Building in Vancouver, BC, Canada from June 19-22, 2019. 

Whelton, who served as the 90th President of IADR from 2013-14, is the Head of the College of Medicine and Health at University College Cork, Ireland and Chief Academic Officer for the South Southwest Hospital Group. Her research focus has been on fluoride and health services research.

Whelton has led multiple regional and six national oral health surveys in Ireland and has contributed to the development of agendas for dental research in both developing and developed countries to monitor oral health among their populations. She leads a number of interdisciplinary research projects dealing with the interrogation of large oral health services databases.  

Whelton’s research has informed the development of dental services and she has also expanded her research contribution to the areas of obesity and women’s general health issues. She has published and lectured extensively in dental public health, preventive dentistry and health services research and is currently the coordinating Principal Investigator of a €6 million European Union Horizon 2020 grant on using administrative patient data to help shift services from the production of treatment to the production of health through an increased emphasis on prevention. The work incorporates individual and system-wide feedback on indicators of success in promoting oral health.

IADR Distinguished Scientist H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award, one of the 17 IADR Distinguished Scientist Awards, is supported by the Colgate-Palmolive Company in memory of H. Trendley Dean, the 21st President of the IADR and first dental officer of the National Institutes of Health. The award consists of a monetary award and plaque and is given for meritorious research in epidemiology and public health. It is one of the highest honors bestowed by IADR.

Sponsored by The Borrow Foundation, the IADR E.W. Borrow Memorial Award recognizes and stimulates research in oral health prevention for children, with a priority for caries prevention where fluoride in different formats is utilized. This is the 28th year of the IADR E.W. Borrow Memorial Award, which consists of a plaque and a monetary award of $3,500 USD.

About the International Association for Dental Research
The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) is a nonprofit organization with over 10,800 individual members worldwide, dedicated to: (1) advancing research and increasing knowledge for the improvement of oral health worldwide, (2) supporting and representing the oral health research community, and (3) facilitating the communication and application of research findings. To learn more, visit www.iadr.org.

Previous Article IADR/AADR Now Seeking JDR Editor-in-Chief Applications
Next Article S. Jeffrey Dixon Received 2019 IADR Distinguished Service Award

Theme picker