In order to promote innovation in dental aesthesia research and to recognize outstanding research contributions by promising young investigators, the Dental Anesthesiology and Special Care Research Group of the IADR has instituted an award for the best anesthesiology-related student research presented during the IADR General Session. This award is generously supported by Septodont. 

Please note that entries for this award must be related to anaesthesiology.


The Award is open to student presenters up to pre-doctoral level. The abstract must be presented within the DASCR Group of the IADR General Session, in oral or poster format. The research reported must not have been published prior to the date of application. Materials presented at other national or international meetings will not be accepted. Recipients of this award will be selected from accepted and presented abstracts and presentation will be attended by a judging panel at the General Session. 



An abstract must be submitted to the Global Headquarters for the IADR General Session & Exhibition by the March 1, 2021 abstract deadline, adhering to the usual submission procedures.  



The award will be presented during the annual business meeting of the DASCR Group during the General Session. The award will comprise of a certificate of recognition and a monetary award to the value of $1,000. 



An award sub-committee, nominated by the Group President will select the award winner based on the scientific merit of the abstract and poster or presentation at the meeting. All submissions and presentations will be scored using a set of criteria which includes: innovation; research methodology, scientific merit, and research relevance. 


Abstract Deadline March 1, 2021 

Abstract Submission site is open August 17, 2020!



Many thanks to our industry partner, Septodont, for sponsoring this prize. 


For further information concerning this award, please contact:

Carilynne Yarascavitch 


Past Recipients
2020 Recipient
Giridharan Muniraj
National University Centre for Oral Health, Singapore 


2019 Recipient
Coleman Christensen

2018 Recipient
Yoonsun Jang


“Congratulations to our Septodont Young Investigator Prize for Innovation award winner Yoonsun Jang (Centre)! The prize was presented by Septodont Head of Scientific Affairs Laurent Artaud (L) and DAR President Carilynne Yarascavitch (R). This award recognizes outstanding research contributions by promising young investigators, and is awarded for the best anesthesiology-related student research presented during the IADR General Session. We thank you Septodont for your generous support!“ 

2017 Recipient
Reiko Onishi
Okayama University, Japan 

2016 Recipient
James Raj
Saveetha Dental College, India 

2015 Recipient
Eri Tanaka
Ohv University, Fukushima Japan 

2013 Recipient
Yoshihisa Watanabe
Okayama University, Japan 

2012 Recipient
Maria Rachel Monteiro
Piracicaba Dental School - FOP/Unicamp, Brazil 

2011 Recipient
Adriana FVR Queiroz
Faculdade de Odontologia Sao Leopoldo Mandic, Campinas, Brazil