

# Periodontal Research Group of the IADR Minutes for the Annual Business Meeting held in Barcelona

# 1. Open and Welcome to all Members (AS)

Dr. Anton Sculean welcomed the members and thanked the committee for all their support during the last 12-months.

# 2. Minutes of last meeting (AS)

The minutes from the 2010 meeting will be available online at: http://www.iadr.org/i4a/pages/Index.cfm?pageID=3661

# 3. Office bearers for 2010/2011 (AS)

- President: Ivan Darby, Melbourne, Australia
- President Elect: Alp Kantarci, Boston, USA
- Secretary: Philip Preshaw, Newcastle, UK
- Treasurer: Jack Spitznagel, Baltimore, USA
- Councillor: Panos Papapanou, Columbia, New York, USA
- Group Programme Chair: Denis Kinane, Louisville, USA
- Immediate Past President: Anton Sculean, Bern, Switzerland

# 4. President's report (AS)

Distinguished speaker lecture was given by Dr Lior Shapira. The distinguished scientist for basic research in periodontal disease award was won by Dr Martin Taubman.

## 5. Secretary's Report (AK)

The secretary presented and circulated a summary report and highlighted the increase in active members. 2010 saw an increase in active members to 837 by 29<sup>th</sup> of June 2010. Number of lifetime members was 5 and of student members was 256. While the total number of members increased from 726 in 2009, student numbers dropped from 302.

There was a record number of increase in the total number of abstracts submitted [468 vs 353 in Miami]. The acceptance rate of 97% was higher compared to 94% in Toronto. There were 107 submitted and 101 accepted abstracts in Diagnosis/Epidemiology; 195 submitted and 189 accepted abstracts in Pathogenesis, and 166 submitted and 162 accepted abstracts in Therapy.

There were 8 lunch and learn's organized this year and almost all of them were sold out long before the meeting. The presents and topics are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Dr. Gulnur Emingil, Izmir, Turkey: MMPs and Low Dose Doxycyline

Dr. Melissa Grant, Birmingham, UK: Biomarker Discovery in Periodontal Research

Dr. Hatice Hasturk, Boston, USA: Experimental Design for Animal Models in Periodontal Research

Dr. Hidemi Kurihara, Hiroshima, Japan: Neurotrophins and Periodontal Regeneration

Dr. Moritz Kebschull, Bonn, Germany: From Bench to Clinic: Interpretation and Use of Gene Array Data Dr. Frank Schwarz, Dusseldorf, Gernmany: Lasers in Periodontal Treatment

Dr. Flavia Teles, Boston, USA: New Microbiological Techniques in Periodontal Research

Dr. Wim Teughels, Leuven, Belgium: Probiotics & Oral Healthcare: Stay healthy, eat more bacteria

# 6. Programme and Symposium Chair's Report (DK)

Denis Kinane thanked the abstract reviewers for 2010 (Panos Papapanou, Philip Preshaw, Ricardo Teles, Tetsuo Kobayashi, Thomas Kocher, Ivan Darby, Anders Gustaffsson, Nikos Donos, Hatice Hasturk, Anton Sculean, Flavia Teles).

In 2010 meeting 5 symposia were sponsored or co-sponsored by the PRG and members of the PRG gave talks in all of them. These were:

Immuno-evasive and Suppressive Strategies of Oral Microbes:

Co-sponsors: Microbiology/Immunology and Oral Health Research Organizer: Christopher Cutler

Functionalized Biomaterials for Prosthetic and Reconstructive Dentistry Co-sponsors: Dental Materials, Implantology, Mineralized Tissue, Prosthodontics Research Organizer: Takahiro Ogawa

- Oral Biofilms. From in vitro Research to Clinical Applications Co-sponsor: Microbiology/Immunology Organizer: Mariano Sanz
- Models to Evaluate Periodontal and Bone Wound Healing/Regeneration Organizers: Anton Sculean & Alpdogan Kantarci
- Methodological Issues in Nutrition and Oral Health Research Co-sponsors: Nutrition Research, Oral Health Research Organizer: Anne Hague

## 7. Treasurer's Report (JS)

Jack Spitznagel delivered the brief outline which included all the significant points and indicated a very stable financial position for the PRG.

As of last annual report (12/31/09) the balance in the account was \$16,131.43. The only Outgoing since the last report was 6040.36 for Reception. The current balance was \$14,681.58.

#### 8. Election of new secretary (AS)

The president, Dr. Sculean, indicted that a new secretary needed to be elected and we were fortunate to have 2 nominations. The rotation will continue to be Europe (2010-11), Asia/Pacific/South America (2011-12) and North America (2012-13). Ballots where distributed by the outgoing secretary and members were asked to indicate there first preference. The nominees were:

Philip Preshaw

David Herrera

The secretary collected and counted all the ballots scrutinised by the President-elect while the meeting continued.

#### 9. 2011 Programme San Diego, CA (AS)

The President called for submissions for the San Diego meeting. Lunch and learning ideas to the secretary and symposium ideas to Prof Kinane.

## 10. Councillor's Report (PP)

Dr. Papapanou gave a brief overview of the IADR council meeting

## 11. Awards

Annual Anthony Rizzo Periodontal Research Award: The winner was Dr. Wim Teughels, from Leuven, Belgium.

**Past Presidents Award (Sponsored by Colgate-Palmolive):** The winner was Dr. Irundika Dias from Birmingham, UK

Philips Oral Healthcare/PRG Young Investigator Research Grant (Sponsored by Philips Oral Healthcare): The winner was Dr. Mandeep Ghuman from King's College, UK

**IADR/Lion Dental Research Award (Sponsored by Lion Corp.):** The winner was Dr. T.D.K. Herath from University of Hong Kong

**IADR/Straumann Award in Regenerative Periodontal Medicine (Sponsored by Straumann):** This is a new award created by Dr. Anton Sculean. The prize is \$5000. The aims of this award are to recognize IADR members who have made significant contributions to basic and/or clinical research in the fields of regenerative periodontal and peri-implant medicine. It is awarded by an independent jury to foster and promote independent research in our field. This year there were two winners: Dr. Martha Somerman from University of Washington, USA and Dr. Ulf Wikesjo from Medical College of Georgia, Augusta, USA.

# 12. New president's Address (ID):

Dr. Ivan Darby gave a presentation for acceptance of the presidency of PRG. He presented a plaque for recognition of service to immediate past president, Dr. Anton Sculean. This will become a standard tradition.

## 13. Results of vote for secretary (ID)

The president announced that following the counting of all votes that Dr. Philip Preshaw had been duly elected as the new secretary for 2010-2011.

# 14. Future Meetings (DK)

Date	Location	Meeting
		IADR
2011 March 16-19	San Diego, California, USA	AADR
		CADR
2011 June 16-18	Lviv, Ukraine	IAP
2011 July 17-22	Davidson College, Davidson, NC	Gordon Conference
2012 March 20-24	Tampa, FL, USA	AADR
		CADR
2012 June 20-23	Rio de Janeiro, Brazil	IADR
		AADR
		CADR
2012 June 6-9	Vienna, Austria	EuroPerio
2013 March 20-23	Seattle, Washington, USA	IADR
		AADR
		CADR