



## 2023-24 CADR-NCOHR Student Research Award Winners

The CADR-NCOHR Student Research Awards are sponsored by the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR) and by the Network for Canadian Oral Health Research (NCOHR). In 2023-24, a total of 20 CADR-NCOHR Student Research Awards were given out. Eighteen students received travel awards to present their research at the 2024 IADR/AADOCR/CADR Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Two students received First Place awards and will represent Canada at the 2024 IADR Hatton Competition.

## SENIOR BASIC SCIENCE RESEARCH CATEGORY

FIRST PLACE AND HATTON COMPETITOR		
<b>Hawraa Issa</b> , Université Laval Eugenol as a potential adjuvant therapy for gingiva carcinoma	Supervisor: Abdelhabib Semlali	
<b>Paras Ahmad</b> , University of Saskatchewan Salivary protein homology between humans and dogs: Unlocking ev	Supervisor: Walter Siqueira olutionary secrets	
<b>Yuval Peled</b> , University of Toronto Neutrophils degrade TEGDMA and UDMA containing resin-based de	Supervisor: Yoav Finer Supervisor: Yoav Finer	
<b>Sangeeth Pillai</b> , McGill University Matrigel-free, bottom-up assembly of adult stem cell derived murine organoids	Supervisor: Simon Tran e and human salivary gland	
Shruti Tophkhane, University of British Columbia Robinow syndrome DVL1 mutations interfere with craniofacial deve	Supervisor: Joy Richman Iopment and WNT signaling	
<b>Meng Yuan</b> , University of Alberta The epigenetic regulator ANKRD11 controls tooth development	Supervisor: Daniel Graf	
<b>Yi Zhu</b> , University of Toronto	Supervisor: Annie Shrestha	

The immunomodulatory mechanism of a chitosan-based composite hydrogel on dendritic cells under hyperglycemia

## SENIOR CLINICAL/PRE-CLINICAL RESEARCH CATEGORY

FIRST PLACE AND HATTON COMPETITOR		
Mary Amure, McGill University Oral coinfection with multiple alpha-human papillomavirus and head-a	Supervisor: Belinda Nicolau	
<b>Larissa Bubnowicz</b> , University of Manitoba SDF effective management of radiation caries: An in vitro study	Supervisor: Rodrigo França	
<b>Vivianne Cruz de Jesus</b> , University of Manitoba Effects of silver diamine fluoride on oral microbiome: A randomized clini	Supervisor: Robert Schroth cal trial	
<b>Abdulrahman Ghoneim</b> , University of Toronto Economic evaluation of a comprehensive dental care program	Supervisor: Sonica Singha	
<b>Luis Limo</b> , Western University <i>Poor access to dental care can exacerbate multimorbidity in adults with</i>	Supervisor: Noha Gomaa sub-optimal oral health	
<b>Tisha Prakash</b> , McGill University Supervisors: Elham Emami, Sabrina Grave Longitudinal prevalence of musculoskeletal disorders (MSD) among dental professionals in Quebec: 2005-2019		
<b>Amee Sanghavi</b> , McGill University Epistemological reflections on case-control studies in dentistry	Supervisor: Jocelyne Feine	
JUNIOR CATEGORY		
Syme Kharbotly, Université de Montreal Positional obstructive sleep apnea and adherence to treatments	Supervisor: Nelly Huynh	
<b>Aya Ragheai</b> , University of Toronto Granule-derived degradative enzymes from human neutrophils degrade	Supervisor: Yoav Finer resin composites	
<b>Bahar Vatanparast</b> , University of Saskatchewan Exploring sterilizer performance through external biological indicator tes	Supervisor: Michelle Siqueira sting: A retrospective study	
Luke Wandzura, University of Saskatchewan Retrospective analysis of biopsies in a college and a systematic review	Supervisor: Felipe Sperandic	
<b>Lynda Wo</b> , University of Toronto Supervisors: <i>Mineralizing effect of polyaspartate-modified resin adhesives</i>	Karina Carneiro, Anuradha Prakk	
<b>Jiaqi Wu</b> , Western University Mechanism of dendritic cells modulations by resveratrol and resolvin-D1	Supervisor: Annie Shrestha	

Trainees working in dental and oral health research in Canada applied for the IADR Hatton Divisional Awards and the CADR-NCOHR Student Research Awards by submitting a manuscript describing their studies. The competition was judged by a panel of dental researchers from across Canada, based on the criteria applied by the IADR Hatton judging committee.