### Minutes of the 2022 IADR Neuroscience Group Business Meeting

June 17, 2022, 12:00 AM to 1:00 AM (CST)

The business meeting was opened with the Welcome remarks by Dr. Aníbal Diogenes, the President and chair of the Business Meeting. He presented the Current officers and Councilors: President (Aníbal Diogenes); President-Elect (Nikolaos Giannakopoulos); Vice-President (Yoshizo Matsuka); Secretary/Treasurer (Takashi Iida); Councilor (Somsak Mitrirrattanakul), Immediately Past President (Daniela Gonçalves), Public relation officer (Iacopo Cioffi).

The meeting agenda was reviewed and agreed. The minutes of 2021 have been available to all members on the Group Website.

Next, Dr. Diogenes presented the status report on the Neuroscience group.

# Events planned for the 100th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR, June 20-25, 2022:

a) <u>"IADR Neuroscience Group Investigator Awards by Wiley-Blackwell Journal of Oral</u> <u>Rehabilitation.</u>"

The competition for this award took place Thursday, June 16, 2022. We had 4 Pre-Doctoral and 2 for the Post-Doctoral contestants.

- b) Three symposia sponsored:
  - I. "Neuronal Soluble Factors as Key Messengers in Orofacial Pain Pathology". Sponsored by the Neuroscience Group. Organizers: Yoshizo Matsuka
  - II. "Brief DC/TMD: Axis I, Axis II, and Implementation in General Dentistry". Sponsored by the Neuroscience Group, Co-sponsored by INfORM. Organizer: Per Alstergren
  - III. "Chewing Over Bruxism".

Sponsored by the Neuroscience Group. Organizers: Daniele Manfredini, Frank Lobbezoo

- c) Interactive Talk Sessions with a total of 24 abstracts
  - I. Animal Studies on Orofacial Pain and Central Neural Pathways Thursday 6/23/2022, 8:00 AM CST
  - II. Central Nervous System Regeneration Friday 6/24/2022, 11:00 AM CST
  - III. Clinical Studies and Orofacial Pain Models Friday 6/24/2022, 8:00 PM, CST

Total number of abstracts submitted to IADR Neuroscience Group: 25. Abstracts presented at the meeting: 24. Rejection rate: 4 %.

### Financial and membership report (Yoshizo Matsuka)

- a) <u>Financial status:</u> Balance on Dec 31, 2019: US \$ 12,991.08
  Balance on Dec 31, 2020: US \$ 16,989.08
  Balance on Dec 31, 2021: US \$ 19,456.08
  Incomes in 2021: US \$ 2,563.00
- b) Membership status:

2020 – Total membership: 246 Full members: 142 Retired members: 21 Student members: 83

2021 (150 members total; March 1, 2021) Full members: 93 Retired members: 19 Student members: 38 2022 (190 members total; March 6, 2022) Full members: 121 Retired members: 18 Student members: 51

### The Executive Committee proposes the following Executive Committee for the next Business Year (2022 - 2023) and council representatives:

President: Nikolaos Giannakopoulos President-elect: Yoshizo Matsuka Vice-President: Nikolaos Christidis Secretary/Treasurer: Takashi Iida (3-year term: 2021 - 2024) Councilor: Somsak Mitrirattanakul (3-year term: 2020 - 2023) Public relation officer: Iacopo Cioffi

## Winners of 2022 IADR Neuroscience Young Investigator Awards by Wiley Publishing Journal of Oral Rehabilitation (Nikolaos Giannakopoulos)

We had 2 contestants in the postdoctoral category and 4 in the predoctoral category. In total, 5 candidates presented their posters.

The winners were:

### **Pre-Doctoral**

Muhammed A. Gokhan – Aarhus University, Denmark: "Are milk proteins capable of relieving burning oral mucosal pain?" Award amount: US\$500.00

#### **Post-Doctoral**

Shan Jiang - The University of Hong Kong, China: "HA Hydrogel Loaded with

GMSCs-derived Neural Lineages for Stroke Treatment" Award amount: US\$ 1,000.00

### Future initiatives (Daniela Gonçalves)

a) Open call for Keynote speaker, Symposia, Lunch & Learning and Hands-on workshop

topics and organizers for the next <u>General Session & Exhibition of the IADR in Bogota</u>, <u>Colombia 2023</u>

Dr. Aníbal Diogenes then invited questions and input from the members before the meeting was adjourned.

Approved by the IADR Neuroscience group officers on July 31, 2022:

Aníbal Diogenes Nikolaos Giannakopoulos Yoshizo Matsuka Takashi Iida Somsak Mitrirattanakul Iacopo Cioffi