

November 2017 Newsletter

BEHSR

In this Issue:

- Presidential Address
- 2. How to Donate to BEHSR
- 3. Upcoming Events
- 4. Group Awards
- 5. Current Officers

For questions or contributions, contact:

Brenda Heaton brenda 9@bu.edu

President's Address:

Dear BEHSR colleagues,

Happy Fall! As I launch into my final term as president of the Behavioral Epidemiologic and Health Services Research (BEHSR) group, I want to extend a warm thank you to all our members and especially to the Executive Committee for working tirelessly to see that our group continues to excel in all our activities. I am excited about the coming year in our organization and all that it holds. I am especially looking forward to another round of meetings and the



As we prepare for the American Association of Dental Research (AADR) Meeting next March and the International Association of Dental Research (IADR) meeting in July 2018, I would like to use this opportunity to encourage everyone to submit abstracts, symposium materials and hands-on workshops as a testament to all the hard work you put into your research. I believe that we are truly privileged in this group because we are able to exhibit interdisciplinary approaches to our research, which makes it all more exciting. As part of our usual practice, our official business meeting and a joint reception with the Nutrition and Geriatric groups will be held at the IADR meeting in July 2018 in London, United Kingdom.

opportunity to interact with colleagues in our quest to execute cutting-edge research.

After our meeting in Seoul, South Korea, a major requirement for change was communicated from the central office to all scientific groups/networks (SG/N) of the IADR. This was the need to have a uniform number of elected officers across SG/Ns, who will be responsible for the growth and development of the groups. All scientific groups/networks (SG/N) are required to have 5 elected executive officers with the option to appoint annually Group Program Chairs, Session organizers, and Abstract reviewers to manage the SG/N content for the general session and annual meetings. The 5 newly elected officers will be responsible for growing the group in addition to other functions required by the SG/N. More details about the requirements for election and assigned duties can be found on the IADR website. The new elected positions are as follows: President, President-elect, Vice-President, Secretary/Treasurer, IADR Councilor. I am pleased to report that the executive committee has worked out a transition plan to achieve this directive without compromising the group's activities, and at the same time giving all current elected officers time to serve out their terms....continued on next page

How to Donate to BEHSR:

If you are interested in contributing to BEHSR general or specific funds, such as awards (see President's letter), please use one of the following options to make your contribution:

- 1. Mail a check (payable to "IADR") to Sheri S. Herren (see contact info). Please indicate in writing the
 - amount and intent of the contribution i.e. "\$100 for the Giddon Award fund" in both a letter and on the check.
- To contribute via credit/debit card, please call Sheri S. Herren to make the donation by telephone.

Sheri S. Herren, Strategic Programs Manager
International & American Associations for Dental Research
1619 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3406, USA
T: +1.703.299.8094 | E: sheri.herren@gmail.com

Group Awards

At present, BEHSR sponsors multiple awards at both the student/trainee and investigator levels. In addition to awards associated with abstract submissions (Outstanding Student Abstract Award(s) & Lois Cohen International Travel Award), we sponsor the following awards for recently published papers:

<u>Aubrey Sheiham Award for Distinguished Research in</u> Dental Public Health Sciences

Giddon Award for Distinguished Research in the Behavioral Sciences

Nominations for these awards should be sent to Chris Okunseri (christopher.okunseri@marquette.edu) no later than **December 30, 2017**

Upcoming Events

AADR Oral Epi Forum

March 20, 2018

AADR General Session & Exhibition (Ft Lauderdale, FL)

March 21-24, 2018

IADR/PER Oral Epi Forum July 24, 2018

IADR/PER General Session & Exhibition (London, England)

July 25-28, 2018

President's Address continued... I am excited to report that the student and young faculty population of BEHSR continues to grow. While I recognize the success of the annual AADR and biennial IADR Epi-Forum over the years, members should consider going beyond these Epi-Forum events to serve as research mentors to new members in the group. We are lucky to have a pool of senior researchers in our group who are renowned in their various fields of research. It is my hope that young faculty members will take advantage of the talents within us to help launch their careers. To achieve this mentorship endeavor, I want to encourage us all to reach out where possible and to seek to "adopt a member or faculty from a different institution" to mentor for research. It is important to note that these groups of individuals represent the future of our group and the various disciplines it encompasses.

Regarding our group awards, we would like to encourage members to donate or seek funding opportunities to grow the awards we currently offer. To promote this, **Prof. Giddon has pledged to match any collections raised in support of the Giddon award.** I would like to appeal to members to take up the challenge. All awards presented by our group to our members serve as a recognition of their hard work and excellence in their chosen fields. We have a lot to be proud of, and I continue to be ready to celebrate the accomplishments of our members. I am deeply grateful to be working with such a talented and committed group of members and executive committee members.

All my best wishes to everyone,

Christopher Okunseri

CURRENT OFFICERS

President:

Christopher Okunseri (Christopher.okunseri@mu.edu)

President-elect:

Daniel W. McNeil (dmcneil@wvu.edu)

Immediate Past President:

Lisa Jamieson (lisa.jamieson@adelaide.edu.au)

Secretary-Treasurer:

Brenda Heaton (brenda9@bu.edu)

Group Program Chairs:

Lisa Heaton (Iheaton@uw.edu)

Tim Newton (tim.newton@kcl.ac.uk)

Symposium Coordinator:

Sarah Baker (s.r.baker@sheffield.ac.uk)

IADR Councilor(s):

George Tsakos (g.tsakos@ucl.ac.uk)

Belinda Nicolau, Alternate (belinda.nicolau@mcgill.ca)

AADR Councilor(s):

Stuart Gansky (stuart.gansky@ucsf.edu)
Kimon Divaris, Alternate (kimon_divaris@unc.edu)

North American Directors:

1st Year— Ben Chaffee (benjamin.chaffee@ucsf.edu)

2nd Year— Ananda Dasansayake (anandanyu@gmail.com)

3rd Year— Astha Singhal (asinghal@bu.edu)

International Directors::

1st Year— Barry Gibson (b.j.gibson@sheffield.ac.uk)

2nd Year— Kostas Kapellas (kostas.kapellas@adelaide.edu)

3rd Year— Rainer Jordan (r.jordan@idz-koeln.de)