

October 2018 Newsletter

BEHSR

In this Issue:

- 1. President's Message
- 2. How to Donate to BEHSR
- 3. Group Awards
- 4. Save the Dates!
- 5. In Memorium
- 6. Current Officers

For questions or contributions, contact:

Brenda Heaton brenda 9@bu.edu

President's Message:

Greetings BEHSR Colleagues!

We had wonderful BEHSR events in London at the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) meeting in July of this year, including an Oral Epi Forum, BEHSR keynote speaker, business meeting, joint reception, and an array of symposia and lunch-and-learn events. It was an intellectually stimulating and collegial event in one of the world's great cities. Thanks to our colleagues in the UK for hosting such a spectacular event.



We already are preparing for the 2019 International/American/Canadian Association for Dental Research Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia from June 19-22. Please consider submitting lunch-and-learn or hands-on workshop proposals, in addition to the ever-popular symposia, as well as oral presentation and poster abstracts

Planning for the 2019 Oral Epi Forum is well underway, thanks to the efforts of organizer Belinda Nicolau, and others on the Epi Forum committee. Students and early career professionals should be on the lookout for the invitation to submit Oral Epi Forum abstracts in 2019. We are also making strides toward implementing initiatives geared toward welcoming students and early career professionals into our ranks during the annual meetings. Stay tuned!

Additionally, we are anticipating new BEHSR officers in the roles of Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer, and IADR Councilor to take office in 2019 after the IADR conference. Please be certain to cast your vote (electronically) by the November 18, 2018 dead-line (see emails from "membervote@iadr.org).

Along with these new officers, the Executive Committee is exploring how we best can employ the leadership structure designated by the IADR, adding roles as necessary. In particular, we are interested in engaging students and early career professionals in the BEHSR Executive Committee, to provide a voice for those who are new to this field. If this describes you, please don't hesitate to reach out via email to see how you can get involved!

How to Donate to BEHSR:

If you are interested in contributing to BEHSR general or specific funds, such as awards (see President's message), please use one of the following options to make your contribution:

- 1. Mail a check (payable to "IADR") to Sheri S. Herren (see contact info). Please indicate in writing the amount and intent of the contribution i.e. "\$100 for the Giddon Award fund" in both a letter and on the check.
- 2. To contribute via credit card, please call IADR GHQ at +1.703.548.0066 to make the donation by telephone.

Sheri S. Herren, Strategic Programs Manager International & American Associations for Dental Research 1619 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3406, USA T: +1.703.299.8094 | E: sheri.herren@gmail.com

Group Awards

BEHSR sponsors multiple awards at both the student/ trainee and investigator levels. In addition to awards associated with abstract submissions (Outstanding Student Abstract Award(s) & Lois Cohen International Travel Award), we sponsor the following awards for recently published papers:

<u>Aubrey Sheiham Award for Distinguished Research in</u>
Dental Public Health Sciences

Giddon Award for Distinguished Research in the Behavioral Sciences

Nominations for these awards should be sent to Dan McNeil (dmcneil@wvu.edu) no later than

In Memorium

Howard Bailit, DMD, PhD, a founding member of BEHSR, and a leader in health services research for many years.

Save the Dates!

IADR/AADR/CADR General Session & Exhibition

Vancouver, British Columbia June 19-22, 2019

Deadline for submission of IADR proposals

Symposia, Lunch-and-Learn, and HoWs

October 29, 2018

To: Dr. Jacqueline Burgette at jacqueline@pitt.edu

IADR/AADR/CADR Oral Epi Forum

Vancouver, British Columbia

June 18. 2019

1:00pm-5:00pm

Reception to follow

ADEA International Women's Leadership

Conference

Brescia, Italy

President's Message continued... scientific group. If you have ideas about how to advance behavioral, epidemiologic, and health services oral health research as a scientific group of IADR and beyond, please share your ideas with me and others on the Executive Committee. We have an active, engaged board that is devoted to promoting high-quality research and scholarship. Many thanks to Chris Okunseri who served as president of BEHSR for the last two years, Lisa Jamieson in her role as immediate past-president, and other outgoing members of the Executive Committee (Stuart Gansky, Kimon Divaris, Ranier Jordan, Astha Singhal, Lisa Heaton and Tim Newton). These and other senior researchers in our group continue to be involved and offer an important resource in mentoring students and colleagues in BEHSR. I thank them for their past and ongoing service.

Finally, I encourage BEHSR members to nominate, or self-nominate, research papers for the prestigious Giddon and Sheiham awards. One of the functions of BEHSR is to recognize the very best research in our field each year. In addition to these awards, at the annual conference BEHSR recognizes the best research submitted by a pre-doctoral student, and by a post-doctoral student. The Lois Cohen International Travel Award also is awarded annually through BEHSR, to support travel to IADR by a student or early career researcher from a developing country. To all BEHSR members, please consider donating to BEHSR to support these awards!

Thank you for your interest and involvement in BEHSR. I look forward to seeing you in Vancouver! Best wishes in BEHSR.

CURRENT OFFICERS

President:

Daniel W. McNeil (dmcneil@wvu.edu)

Immediate Past President:

Christopher Okunseri (christopher.okunseri@mu.edu)

Secretary-Treasurer:

Brenda Heaton (brenda9@bu.edu)

Program Officer:

Sarah Baker (s.r.baker@sheffield.ac.uk)

Symposium Coordinator:

Jacqueline Burgette (jacqueline@pitt.edu)

IADR Councilor(s):

George Tsakos (g.tsakos@ucl.ac.uk)

Belinda Nicolau, Alternate (belinda.nicolau@mcgill.ca)

AADR Councilor(s):

Brenda Heaton (brenda9@bu.edu)

Ben Chaffee, Alternate (benjamin.chaffee@ucsf.edu)

North American Directors:

2nd Year— Ben Chaffee (benjamin.chaffee@ucsf.edu)

3rd Year— Ananda P. Dasansayak (anandanyu@gmail.com)

<u>International Directors:</u>: