

Periodontal Research Group of the IADR

Agenda for the Annual General Meeting held in Toronto, Thursday, 3rd July 2008 at 5.00pm

I. Open and Welcome to all Members (RM)

Rod Marshall welcomed the members and thanked Panos Papapanou, the immediate pastpresident for all his support during the last 12-months.

2. Minutes of last meeting (RM)

The minutes from the 2008 meeting will be available online at:

http://dentalresearch.i4a.com/i4a/pages/Index.cfm?pageID=3661

3. Office bearers for 2007/2008 (ILC)

- President: Rod Marshall, Brisbane, Australia
- President Elect: William Giannobile, Michigan, USA
- Secretary: Anton Sculean, Nijmegen, Netherlands
- Treasurer: Jack Spitznagel, Baltimore, USA
- Councillor: Panos Papapanou, Columbia, New York, USA
- Group Programme Chair: Mark Bartold, Adelaide, Australia
- Immediate Past President: Iain Chapple, Birmingham, UK

4. President's report (RM)

5. Secretary's Report

The secretary presented and circulated a summary report and highlighted the increase in active members. 2008 saw an increase in active members to 783 (and increase of 52 over the 2007 figures, 504 members of IADR or AADR). Number of lifetime members was 5 and of student members was 274. There was an increase in the total number of abstracts submitted [372 vs 296 in New Orleans]. The acceptance rate of 94.1% was slightly higher compared to 92.6% in new Orleans. There were 90 submitted and 82 accepted abstracts in Diagnosis/Epidemiology; 176 submitted and 169 accepted abstracts in Pathogenesis, and 106 and 99 accepted abstracts in Therapy.

The following collegues provided lunch and learning sessions at the Toronto meeting: Dieter Bosshardt (University of Berne), Alpdogan Kantarci (Boston University), Nicole Arweiler (University of Freiburg), Luigi Nibali (Eastman Dental Institute), Andreas Stavropoulos (Royal Dental College), Darnell Kaigler (University of Michigan), Thomas Beikler (University of Seattle) and Giovanni Salvi (University of Berne).

6. Programme and Symposium Chair's Report (Mark Bartold)

7. Treasurer's Report

Rod Marshall also thanked Jack Spitznagel for his work (aided by Karen Novak from Micro/immunol group) for organising the reception & menu's. Jack Spitznagel delivered the brief outline which included all the significant points and indicated a very stable financial position for the PRG.

As of last annual report (12/31/07) the balance in the account was \$24,089.04. Outgoing since the last report included Andreas Stavropoulos was awarded \$500 for Rizzo Prize, PRG paid out \$10, 690.13 for Reception.

8. Election of new secretary (Europe)

The president, Dr Marshall, indicted that a new secretary needed to be elected and we were fortunate to have 3 nominations. He called for any further nominations from the floor but none was forthcoming. He expressed the view that his was firmly of the opinion that all the nominees would make excellent secretaries. Ballots where distributed by the outgoing secretary and members were asked to indicate there first preference. The nominees were:

Ivan Darby, University of Melbourne H Yoshie, Lin Jin, University of Hong Kong

The secretary collected and counted all the ballots scrutinised by the President-elect while the meeting continued.

9. 2008 Programme Toronto, Canada

The President called for submissions for the Dallas and Toronto meetings. He also outlined the following future meetings:

Date	Location	Meeting
2009 I-4 April	Miami Beach, Florida, USA	IADR AADR CADR
2010 March (to be arranged)	Washington DC, USA	AADR CADR
2010 14-17 July	Barcelona, Spain	IADR
2011 16-19 March	San Diego, California, USA	IADR AADR CADR
2012 March 20-24	Tampa, FL	AADR CADR

10. Councillor's Report:

II. The IIth Annual Anthony Rizzo Periodontal Research Award

There were no nomination this year

12. The Past Presidents Award

Dr. Marshall called upon Dr. Papapanou to report on the award & this year's winner (Dr. Jan Behle). Dr. Papapanou expressed also his thanks to the reviewers.

13. The First Philips Oral Healthcare/PRG Young Investigator Research Grant

Dr. Marshall announced the result. Dr. Moritz kebschull was awarded with this grant.

14. Future Meetings

15. New President's Address

16. Announce results of vote

The president announced that following the counting of all votes that Dr. Ivan Darby had been duly elected as the new secretary for 2008-2009.

17. Date of Next Meeting

The full program for Miami was yet to be finalised but it is likely the next business meeting will be either Thursday or Friday 2^{nd} or 3^{rd} April 2009.

The Reception was at Intercontinental Hotel, Toronto immediately after the meeting.