Press Releases

2021 AADOCR Election Results

Alexandria, VA – The American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) is pleased to announce the 2021 AADOCR election results. AADOCR members have elected: Effie Ioannidou, University of Connecticut, Farmington, to serve as the AADOCR Vice-president, Ana Bedran-Russo, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI, to serve as the AADOCR Treasurer, and Jorge Perdigão, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, to serve as the AADOCR Representative to the IADR/AADOCR Publications Committee. Their terms will commence at the conclusion of the hybrid 51st Annual Meeting of the AADOCR, which will be held in conjunction with the 46th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR), from March 21-26, 2022 in Atlanta, GA, USA, and online.

Ioannidou is a professor and Interim Chair in the division of periodontology in the School of Dental Medicine, and Director of the Dental Clinical Research. Her research focus is on the association between chronic periodontitis and chronic kidney disease. An IADR/AADOCR member since 1998, Ioannidou is currently serving as Associate Editor of the JDR Clinical & Translational Research, as Guest Co-editor of Advances in Dental Research, and served as a Journal of Dental Research Editorial Board member. She is a founding member of the IADR Women in Science Network and has served in multiple AADOCR leadership roles, including Member-at-large of the AADOCR Board of Directors, member of the AADOCR Government Affairs Committee, and a member of the AADOCR Task Force on Diversity and Inclusion.

Bedran-Russo is a professor and Chair of the department of general dental sciences at the Marquette University School of Dentistry, Milwaukee, WI. Her research focuses on the studies of mechanical, biochemical, and ultrastructural properties of the dental tissues and the interface between biomaterials and tooth structures. An IADR/AADOCR member since 2003, she has authored or co-authored 105 abstracts presented at IADR and AADOCR meetings. Bedran-Russo served as president of the IADR Dental Materials Group and was a member of the IADR Membership and Recruitment Committee. She was recently elected the 2021-22 advisor of the IADR STAR network and as a Journal of Dental Research Editorial Board member.

Perdigão is currently a professor of operative dentistry at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. He is an internationally known expert for his research of new dental materials focusing on issues related to dentin bonding and composite resins. An IADR/AADOCR member since 1993, he has served on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Dental Research, as a member of the AADOCR Fellowships Committee, a member of the joint AADOCR/IADR Publications Committee, and a member of the AADOCR Edward H. Hatton Awards Committee.

“I am pleased to see that such excellent candidates have been voted into these important leadership positions to help advance the AADOCR mission to drive dental, oral, and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being,” said AADOCR President Jacques Eduardo Nör. “Their leadership will be critical as we champion our new science-first approach and solidify AADOCR as the professional home for all multidisciplinary scientists who advance dental, oral, and craniofacial research.”

View a PDF of this press release.


The American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) is the leading professional community for multidisciplinary scientists who advance dental, oral, and craniofacial research. Previously the American Association for Dental Research, the 3,000-member organization connects the scientific community of professionals who champion research that contributes to overall health and well-being. Learn more at