Press Releases

Lisa M. Jamieson to Named 2020 Recipient of the H. Trendley Dean Memorial Distinguished Scientist Award

Alexandria, Va., USA, May 6, 2020 – The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) announced Lisa M. Jamieson, University of Adelaide, Australia as the 2020 recipient of the H. Trendley Dean Memorial Distinguished Scientist Award.

Jamieson is an NHMRC Associate Professor at ARCPOH, University of Adelaide. She has established four research interventions among Indigenous Australians and was involved in establishing the dental component of Wave-3 of the Aboriginal Birth Cohort.

She is recognized as a leading researcher in Indigenous oral health. In this role she has been the contributor of information to national Indigenous oral health and dental services policy in Australia. She has published widely and been an invited presenter at numerous international research meetings involving Indigenous oral health. She is on the Editorial Board of BMC Public Health and has served on several recent NHMRC working parties.

IADR Distinguished Scientist H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award, one of the 17 IADR Distinguished Scientist Awards, is supported by the Colgate-Palmolive Company in memory of H. Trendley Dean, the 21st President of the IADR and first dental officer of the National Institutes of Health. The award consists of a monetary award and plaque and is given for meritorious research in epidemiology and public health. It is one of the highest honors bestowed by IADR.

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 IADR/AADR/CADR General Session, the award was given locally.

About the International Association for Dental Research

The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) is a nonprofit organization with over 10,000 individual members worldwide, with a Mission to drive dental, oral and craniofacial research to advance health and well-being worldwide. To learn more, visit