IADR Aubrey Sheiham Award for Distinguished Research in Dental Public Health Sciences

The Executive Committee of the Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Group (BEHSR) of IADR announces the Aubrey Sheiham Award for Distinguished Research in Dental Public Health Sciences. This award recognizes a single peer-reviewed paper in the field of dental public health published between January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2022.

Award Prize


Key Dates

Applications Open:

Jan 01, 2022

Applications Closed:

Mar 31, 2023

  • Research paper published or accepted for publication between January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2022.
  • Research paper in the field of dental public health.
Apply Here

The Aubrey Sheiham Award for Distinguished Research in Dental Public Health Sciences was established to recognize excellence in dental public health research including oral health-related contributions in epidemiology, biostatistics, health services, community-based prevention or health promotion, environmental health, health economics or health policy. The corresponding author is the recipient of the plaque and check, and all authors are recognized as Aubrey Sheiham Award recipients.

Professor Aubrey Sheiham was Professor of Dental Public Health in the Department of Epidemiology and Public Health at University College London, United Kingdom. A world-renowned dental epidemiologist, he was a passionate advocate of applying the scientific paradigm and evidence-based principles in oral health and policy and was committed to improving the health of populations in underdeveloped countries. His work was characterized by a public health imperative—he recognized that most chronic diseases have common risk factors and that associated health behaviors are socially determined and unequally distributed within and between countries. To actively reduce health and oral health inequalities, Aubrey challenged upstream determinants of chronic diseases, including the sugars industry. His scholarly work is highly cited. He was the recipient of several honors and international awards including honorary Doctorates from the University of Athens, Greece and Western Cape, South Africa; IADR Distinguished Scientist Awards in two fields (Behavioral Sciences and Health Service Research, as well as in Global Oral Health Research); and the American Association of Public Health Dentistry Special Merit Award for Outstanding Achievement in Community Dentistry

2022 Recipient

Lindsay McLaren University of Calgary, Calgary, Canada

For the paper:
“Fluoridation Cessation and Children’s Dental Caries: A 7-year Follow-up Evaluation of Grade 2 Schoolchildren in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada” 
Lindsay McLaren, Steven K. Patterson, Peter Faris, Guanmin Chen, Salima Thawer, Rafael Figueiredo, Cynthia Weijs, Deborah McNeil, Arianna Waye, and Melissa Potestio