IADR Distinguished Scientist Award

The Science Awards Committee has the responsibility of selecting awardees from among the nominations of renowned scientists submitted by Association members. The Committee consists of the Science Awards chair and the subcommittee chair for each award. The subcommittee members are composed of the previous award recipients. Appointments are made annually for a period of five years on a rotation basis. Any IADR member may nominate a candidate for a science award. Once a nomination is made, it is considered each year for five years unless the nominee is selected for an award during this period. After the fifth year, the nomination is withdrawn unless a re-nomination is received.

  • Science Awards subcommittees are composed of previous winners of the awards; therefore, subcommittee members may not be nominated again for the same award. Members of Science Awards subcommittees may be nominated by another subcommittee. Subcommittee members who have been appointed by the IADR President-elect and who have not already received their subcommittee's award may be nominated for any award; however, appointees must resign if nominated for the award of the subcommittee on which they currently serve.
  • ONLY IADR members may be nominated.
  • Posthumous nominations are not acceptable.
  • Nomination of an individual for more than one award in the same year is discouraged.
  • No person should be awarded two IADR Science Awards for the same research, with the exception of the Edward H. Hatton and Young Investigator Awards. Any nominations for a second award must include written evidence that the nomination is for work in a different field of research.
  • Nomination of members of the IADR Board of Directors is not allowed. If a new member of the IADR Board is a nominee, their nomination will be suspended for the period of their service on the Board.
  • All nominations made within the past five years must be reconsidered in the current selection unless the nominee was selected for an award.
Award Prize

$3,500 and Plaque

Key Dates

Applications Open:

Jul 26, 2021

Applications Closed:

Sep 13, 2021

Any IADR member may nominate a candidate for a science award. All nominations must be submitted via the online system.
The following information MUST accompany each nomination and submitted electronically.

Only nominations submitted online will be accepted.

1. Nomination Reason (no more than 2 pages) describing the reasons you are nominating the individual for the particular award; and
2. Curriculum vitae (no more than 10 pages, 1/2 inch margins and font of at least 11 points or larger.)

The award consists of a $3,500 monetary prize and a plaque presented at Opening Ceremonies of the IADR General Session & Exhibition.

2021 Recipients

Award in Geriatric Oral Research

Supported by GlaxoSmithKline
Fredrick Allan Clive Wright
The University of Sydney, Australia

Fredrick Allan Clive Wright
Basic Research in Biological Mineralization Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care
Eric Everett, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, US

Eric Everett
Behavioral, Epidemiologic and Health Services Research Award

Supported by CareQuest Institute for Oral Health
Daniel McNeil, West Virginia University, Morgantown, US

Daniel McNeil
Craniofacial Biology Research Award

YiPing Chen, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA, US

YiPing Chen
Global Oral Health Research Award

Supported by GlaxoSmithKline
Lois Cohen, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD, US

Lois Cohen
H. Trendley Dean Memorial Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company
May Wong, University of Hong Kong, SAR, China

May Wong
Isaac Schour Memorial Award

Supported by an endowment provided by Dr. Bernard G. Sarnat and Rhoda G. Sarnat through the Sarnat Family Foundation
Alastair Sloan, University of Melbourne, Australia

Alastaur Sloan
Oral Medicine & Pathology Research Award

Caroline Shiboski, University of California San Francisco, US

Caroline Shiboski
Pharmacology/Therapeutics/ Toxicology Research Award

Martin Thornhill, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom

Martin Thornhill
Pulp Biology & Regeneration Award

Supported by Dentsply Sirona
Fionnuala Lundy, Queen’s University Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Research in Oral Biology Award

Supported by Church & Dwight Co., Inc.
Eija Könönen, University of Turku, Finland

Eija Kononen
Research in Periodontal Disease Award

Supported by Colgate-Palmolive Company
Bruno Loos, Academic Center for Dentistry Amsterdam (ACTA), The Netherlands

Bruno Loos
Research in Prosthodontics and Implants Award

Kiyoshi Koyano, Kyushu University, Kyushu, Japan

Kiyoshi Koyano
Salivary Research Award

Supported by Unilever Oral Care
Sarah Knox – University of California San Francisco, US

Sarah Knox
William H. Bowen Research in Dental Caries Award

Supported by Johnson & Johnson Consumer, Inc.
Ingegerd Johansson, Umeå University Medical School, Sweden

Ingegerd Johansson
Wilmer Souder Award

Supported by an endowment provided by the IADR Dental Materials Group
Alvaro Della Bona, University of Passo Fundo, Brazil

Alvaro Della Bona
Young Investigator Award

Supported by P&G Professional Oral Health, Crest + Oral-B
Vinicius Rosa, National University of Singapore

Vinicius Rosa

Have questions about awards?

Anthony Jones

Awards, Fellowships and Grants Coordinator

Email me