IADR Hatton Competition and Awards

The IADR Hatton Competition is designed to provide an opportunity for the best junior investigators from all IADR Divisions and Sections to present their research at the annual IADR General Session. Of these international competitors, up to six (6) may receive monetary prizes and commemorative plaques in the junior and senior categories.

Each candidate who participates will receive prepaid IADR meeting registration, as well as monetary prizes awarded to the six (6) winners of the Competition. The Competition will be held on Tuesday, June 21, 2022. Travel funds will be determined at a later date.

Award Prize

Each candidate who participates will receive prepaid IADR meeting registration, as well as monetary prizes awarded to the six (6) winners of the Competition. First prize -$1,600 and Trophy Second prize - $800 and Trophy

Key Dates

Applications Open:

Aug 09, 2021

Applications Closed:

Jan 17, 2022

Categories of Competition:

Currently enrolled in a B.D.S./D.D.S. (Bachelor’s and/or dental degree). This competition will be limited to those candidates who have carried out their research as part of undergraduate/professional training (research undertaken as an undergraduate science student, as a dental student, or at a time of pursuing an intercalated science degree while in training as a dental student).

Entrants must be enrolled in a post-dental, post-graduate, or Ph.D. program or have performed the research submitted to the competition within three (3) years of their earning the award of Ph.D. Entrants for this category would have carried out research as part of a higher degree, either a Masters, Ph.D., or M.D. with previous laboratory experience, or as part of specialty training, and post-doctorals. The Senior Category is divided into two sections:

  • Clinical/Pre-clinical Research: Involving research on human subjects and/or epidemiologic studies.
  • Basic Science Research: Involving laboratory or animal research.

All candidates must be a current member of or, at the time of submission, have made bona fide application to the IADR.

The Competition is open to the Divisions and Sections of the IADR.

The number of competitors a Division may enter is determined by the following formula, based on Divisional Membership:

Number of full IADR members in a Division
(NOT including student, retired or affiliate members)*
IADR Hatton entries per Division
10-50 1
51-500 2
501-1000 3
1001-1500 4
1501-2000 5
2001 and up 6

*Each IADR non-Divisional Section with 10 or more members may select one (1) candidate upon successful completion of a Section Competition.

Candidates may be divided between the three categories of competition as the Division/Section wishes.

2021 Recipients

Junior Category – Second Place

Jordan Blum,
Breastmilk Influences the Bacterial Diversity of the Infant Oral Microbiome
The University of Melbourne, Australia
IADR Australia/New Zealand Division

Jordan Blum
Junior Category – First Place

Natalie Atyeo
Oral Herpesvirus Infection Induces FOXQ1, a Novel Lytic Cycle Promoter
University of Florida, Gainesville, US
IADR American Division

Natalie Atyeo
Senior Basic Science Category – Second Place

Zhi Ren
Supraorganism-like Interkingdom Interactions During Biofilm Initiation in Saliva
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, US
IADR American Division

Zhi Ren
Senior Basic Science Category – First Place

Shanmukh Peddi
Maneuverability And Therapeutic Applications of Nanorobots in Exvivo Teeth
Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
IADR Indian Division

Shanmukh Peddi
Senior Clinical Research Category – Second Place

Waheed Awotoye
Whole-Genome-Sequencing Reveals de-novo Mutations Associated with Nonsyndromic Cleft Lip/Palate
University of Iowa, Iowa City, US
IADR American Division

Waheed Awotoye
Senor Clinical Research Category – First Place

Walid Ahmed Al-Soneidar
Effect of Multiple Human Papillomaviruses on Head and Neck Cancer
McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
IADR Canadian Division

Walid Alsoneidar

Questions about the award?

Anthony Jones

Awards, Fellowships and Grants Coordinator

Email me